top of page

Meet international standards

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It provides a common basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses, curriculum guidelines, examinations, textbooks, etc. It describes in a comprehensive way what language learners have to learn in order to use a language for communication and what knowledge and skills they have to develop so as to be able to act effectively.


This scheme is used around the world to describe learners' language skills and makes it possible to compare tests and examinations across languages and national boundaries. The description also covers the cultural context in which language is set and defines levels of proficiency which allow learners' progress to be measured at each stage of learning and on a life-long basis.


For more info: Council of Europe.


A1 (60 hours) | Basic user

A2 (90 hours)

B1 (120 hours) | Independent user

B2 (150 hours)

C1 (180 hours) | Proficient user

C2 (210 hours)

bottom of page