# Our standards

210 hours

90 hours

60 hours



Basic user

150 hours

120 hours



Independent user

180 hours



Proficient user

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It provides a common basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses, curriculum guidelines, examinations, textbooks, etc. It describes in a comprehensive way what language learners have to learn in order to use a language for communication and what knowledge and skills they have to develop so as to be able to act effectively.


This scheme is used around the world to describe learners' language skills and makes it possible to compare tests and examinations across languages and national boundaries. The description also covers the cultural context in which language is set and defines levels of proficiency which allow learners' progress to be measured at each stage of learning and on a life-long basis.


For more info: Council of Europe.